Froyo 2.2 Update for HTC Wilfire is Released in time for Christmas!


This post has updated and moved to

Heavenly Android

This entry was posted in Froyo and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Froyo 2.2 Update for HTC Wilfire is Released in time for Christmas!

  1. Wayne says:

    Well I have been trying this but no updates available for my phone, grrrrrr

    • What country are you in?

    • Hi Wayne, try the following see it it helps:

      Try disabling and re-enabing your wifi / 3G network, then try check for update.

      I noticed last week when there was an update the HTC desire that when I checked for the update it said it wasn’t there, I tried disabling / re-enabling the wifi/3g and it appeared to pick the update, give it ago.

      • Adrian says:

        I disable`it and re-enable my wifi and i got the uppgrade to 2.2. Thank you very much for your help and Merry Christmas to everyone.

        Adrian ( from Roumania)
        Network Operator that i use: Cosmote

      • I am glad that this solution worked for you Adrian. Have a very merry Christmas!

  2. Thomas says:

    This is lovely 😉 Greetings from Denmark

    btw what is added in this build?

    i see a few changed icons.
    added wi-fi hotspot – i like
    apps to sd – i rly like

    no live wallpapers ;(

    but what else?

  3. Ken says:

    Thanks for your work in getting HTC to move this along.

    Yes, I see the article in the European HTC website.
    But nothing in the Australian website yet.
    Hope we get it as I am about to buy 2 wildfire phones (both locked to Telstra NextG network).
    Making it 2.2 is why I have decided to go with the wildfire. Otherwise it won’t really be worth it.

  4. Wayne says:

    I’m from the UK, I’ve looked on the HTC website but no mention of it, perhaps I’m looking in the wrong place. Also tried the above and even switched the phone on and off a few times. Also tried it with WiFi and then just 3g. Oh well, still on the waiting game, at least its coming our way by the sounds of things.

    • The other thing which may be stopping you getting the update is your network provider, who are you with?

      HTC have announced the update on their site, at the top click on ‘Support’ then if you scroll down you should see some news items.

  5. Ralph says:

    as i’m typing this reply the update is running.
    dowloading in Belgium, 19u15
    with thanxs 4 for your note to make us attend of this update.

  6. Wayne says:

    I’m with T-mobile that’s great your in the UK too, that means it must definitely on the way. Oh and I did find it just on the HTC web site thanks to your input, I was clicking wildfire strait after support. Me bad. Will comment when I have the update. Many thanks for all your hard work

  7. Paul says:

    Hi, I came across your blog after searching for updates to froyo on my HTC Wildfire, I’ve had mine a week on Three network in the UK and no update is appearing at the moment. Hopefully in the very near future.

  8. Nicki says:

    Awesome! Any chance of me getting this in China? I’m with China Mobile.

  9. Wayne says:

    Yippee, had mine about 7.00 gmt this morning, already noticed a few changes like Google search in the apps etc. Time to put it though its paces. Will keep in touch.

  10. el says:

    hey, my phone update finds but when install must been started after reboot only phone with question mark shows on display.. 😦 Latvia.

  11. FlyTrap says:

    Still nothing for me yet…

    My phone is a PAYG from three. Its unlocked (cost £15 from three) and is now running on a T-Mobile contract SIM. Could this non standard configuration affect the update?

    How is the over the air update served? Is this controlled by HTC or will it come from T-Mobile or even Three?

    • Your current carrier Three will be responsible for pushing out the update notification to your phone. It doesn’t matter if your phone was previously locked to another network.

      • FlyTrap says:

        My current SIM card us T-Mobile, so I assume you meant that my update will come from them.

        Is there a way to view the details of which service the phone is configured to get the FOTA update from?

      • Have u tried disabling and re-enabling ur data and wifi connection before checking for the update?

      • FlyTrap says:

        Yes tried that and even tried with the original ‘Three’ SIM that the phone came with.

        Has anyone else had the update on Three or T-Mobile yet?

        Great blog by the way. Is it a bit early to start discussing 2.3 yet!

      • I am in the uk, on t-mobile on a contract and I got the update straight away. I have a friend with a htc wildfire who is on t-mobile pay as u go in the uk, I am seeing them tomorrow evening so will see if I can get the the update for them ( getting the update will be better than giving them an Xmas card 🙂 ), I’ll post up on the blog if it was successful or not.

  12. I have just heard from HTC that froyo isn’t available on Three handsets at the moment.

  13. waldo islas says:

    froyo for Wildfire.. those are great, great news….. but not for those who live in latin america… specifically MEXICO.

    I bought the Wildfire (named: Desire A by the carrier Unefon) then I unlocked the phone in order to use any SIM card… no problem,… I changed my TELCEL’s SIM card and it works great with 3 & 3.5 G mobile networks

    now that it’s available on your contries, I’ve been trying to update its 2.1 to 2.2 Froyo… tapped Menu >> Setting >> about >> updates >> check for updates…… and it saids: my phone is up to date

    …. how long should I wait to get it here in Mexico?? Is there a way to change country?? just for looking for updates…

    HTC support for Latin america is offering updates… yeah!! windows mobile 6 for the S621 model .. which was sold 3 years ago!!!

    If someone knows someway to avoid this problem.. post it, please!! thanks!!

    • I have no idea myself when or if you will be receiving Froyo 2.2 in Mexico and I understand how frustrating this is for you. I will endeavour to try and find some answers. In the meantime I hope that you don’t have to wait too long.

  14. coy says:

    im having a problem about the update..im from philippines..i got the update early this morning but everytime im installing it it says ” failed to verify whole – file signature then signature verification failed” i reformatted everything but i can’t install the update..

Comments are closed.